Outcast

This is my thoughts on Homeschooling, and how I felt being in and out of homeschool and public.

Growing up I have been in and out of school, from homeschooling to public school. Now I am in college; but in all honesty, if I could go back in time and choose what I wanted to do then, I would have stayed homeschooled. Homeschooling was so much nicer. I didn’t have to spend ALL DAY in classrooms and waste my precious time. I would whip out my school work in a matter of a couple hours. It was amazing, because then I could go outdoors, feel free, and explore the world/nature.

HOMESCHOOLERS are NOT weirdos.. Outcasts..Losers… Antisocial people…Etc.  EVERY PUBLIC SCHOOL HAS ANTISOCIAL PEOPLE. I REPEAT, EVERY PUBLIC SCHOOL HAS ANTISOCIAL PEOPLE. So just because someone is “homeschooled”, it doesn’t make them antisocial. Yes, there ARE antisocial people in homeschooling, but there ARE antisocial people in public schools.

Homeschoolers also are not stuck in their house all the time. Homeschoolers do activities and see other people and children. THERE ARE HOMESCHOOL GROUPS. You just have to look for them and get involved. I was in two homeschool groups when I was homeschooled. On my own, at my house, I did math, and reading/english. In my groups, I had Gym, Sign Language, History, Bioligy, etc. You just have to look and get involved.

Yes, there are different types of “homeschool”. Text-books, online, UNSCHOOL, and probably more that I may be unaware of. Unschooling is a “schooling” where they have no curriculum, no anything. Unschoolers learn whenever and however they want. They learn the world, and choose what they are interested in, and you know what? Unschoolers are some of the SMARTEST people I have ever met.

When I went to public school, I was instantly the outcast and weirdo. When I went to public school I got more stupid. I was SO smart when I was homeschooled that when I went to public school, I felt like I had to get down to their level to hopefully be accepted. That was the most stupid thing I ever did in my life.  DON’T EVER THINK THAT YOU HAVE TO DO THAT. Let those people think that if they are going to be like that. DO NOT let them drag you down.

Please, if you or someone doesn’t know much about something, educate yourself or them. Don’t let them drag down others because of it. It can hurt them much more than you could ever imagine.

When I was homeschooled, I had freedom. Adventure. When I was homeschooled, I didn’t care what others thought. When I was homeschooled, my love for oneself was so much stronger.

“Just because my path is different, it doesn’t mean I am lost”.

One thought on “Outcast

Add yours

  1. Sending a hug your way, my dear. I’m homeschooling my son and social life is often the first question non-homeschooling parents ask me. Some people just don’t fully understand homeschooling, so I just try to educate them about it.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑